More costumes … C-3PO

It was my University Summer Ball last Friday and it was brilliant! Such great atmosphere and just an amazing night all in all. And of course it was fancy dress. I’ve posted a post on some of my previous homemade costumes – ketchup and the golden snitch – this time I decided to try create a C3PO costume as I still had the gold leotard from the golden snitch costume. My sewing machine tension is kind of broken, even after much fiddling with the screws on the bobbin to change the tension … so I had to try my hardest to do what I could.

1005699_10151483187868831_172360360_n

I do think the costume was quite successful in the end. I wore gold disco pants (which unfortunately started to split in the crotch area throughout the night but were saved by safety pins), and a gold leotard with my timberland boots. I drew a C3PO mask with my graphics tablet and printed it off onto card and glued it to some cereal box cardboard, using ribbon to tie it round my head and secure into place with curvy grips. I sewed together the chest piece which had velcro at the back of the neck … I also made the waistband and sewed each individual wire onto it, before glue-gunning a card circle onto it.

c3pooo

I also used gold face paint on my arms, and drew more pieces on using black eyeliner, and hair sprayed into place. I also wore neon yellow clay earrings that I bought on etsy.

c3po2

Leave a Reply

